Getting your first DUI can involve a lot of things. Between the driver’s license suspension, financial costs, court appearances, and potential arrest and jail time, the cost of a DUI is a complicated thing to measure.
However, you don’t have to deal with it all on your own. If you’re facing your first DUI in Massachusetts, then you’re probably going to have a lot of questions and concerns, and we want to help! To help you get the answers you’re looking for, let’s look into what the cost of a DUI first offense looks like in Massachusetts and then explore some of the ways you can deal with it.
The Cost of a DUI
If you’re tried and convicted of a DUI first offense in Massachusetts, you’re going to face several consequences. The maximum penalties you could be given include up to 2.5 years in prison, fines ranging from $500-$5,000, and a 1-year driver’s license suspension.
With that said, most first offenders won’t go to jail (unless their case involves a death or serious injury). Instead, on account of the Alternative Disposition, the majority of first offenses end in 2 years of probation, mandatory enrollment and completion of a driver alcohol education program, and a 45-90 day license suspension.
It’s also important to mention that, even though cases that end in an Alternative Disposition don’t usually have fines involved, there may still be a financial cost to deal with. The literal cost of a DUI first offense can come from things like:
- Monthly probation service expenses
- Fees associated with the mandatory driver alcohol education program
- The cost of reinstating your driver’s license
- Paying for vehicle impoundment, towing, or storage
There are other fees you could end up paying for as well, but this list gives you a good outline of what the cost of a DUI can look like. The bottom line is that a DUI is costly, in more ways than one, so you must get in touch with an attorney as soon as possible.
Defending Against a First DUI Charge
The potential DUI costs can be steep, so it’s essential that you get in touch with an attorney immediately after being charged. The sooner you can work with a defense attorney, the better off you’ll be in the long run as they can help you work through the particulars of your case, identify areas to build a defense, and keep you grounded throughout the entire DUI trial process.
Some of the most common ways to defend against the cost of a DUI first offense involve:
- The legality of the stop, arrest, and/or interrogation
- Violations in the breath test procedure
- The overall reliability of the breath test
Facing a DUI first offense is a stressful experience. If you’re feeling overwhelmed by the potential cost of a DUI, or have any questions about your case, contact a DUI defense attorney as soon as you can. With their expertise on your side, you can start building an ironclad defense that will give you the best odds of a positive outcome in court.