What Happens to Your License After a First Offense DUI Conviction?

A first offense DUI conviction will result in a loss of your license to drive. It’s likely that your license was already suspended at the time of arrest from failing or refusing a breathalyzer test. If this suspension has concluded, a conviction will lead to a new and separate suspension. This is the most likely scenario since there’s a 30-day suspension for failing the breath test, and a 180-day suspension for refusing the test (for a first offense). Court cases tend to take longer than this to resolve.

Read More

4 Things You Should Know About First Offense DUI Laws in Massachusetts

OUI and DUI laws in Massachusetts follow the same basic guidelines, no matter whether it’s your first DUI or your fifth. Drivers who operate a motor vehicle on a public roadway—or any area with a public right of access—while their ability to drive is impaired by alcohol or drugs are “driving under the influence” and can be charged with an OUI/DUI.  

Read More

5 Ways Your Massachusetts Breathalyzer Results Can Affect a First DUI

The Massachusetts breathalyzer test is a tool used by law enforcement to determine driver impairment and gather evidence in support of OUI/DUI charges.  In practice, however, the results of the test aren’t black and white. Below are five different ways a Massachusetts breathalyzer test can affect the outcome of a first DUI offense.

Read More

Are You Required to Take a DUI Breath Test if it’s Your First Offense?

Declining an OUI or DUI breath test in Massachusetts is not a crime.  Doing so prevents the prosecution from acquiring potentially incriminating evidence that can be used against you if you are charged with DUI/OUI.  Breath test refusal means nothing in court on its own, and the prosecution will not even be allowed to reference the fact that you declined to take the test. 

Read More

How to Get Your License Back After a DUI First Offense in Massachusetts

Unless you get a Not Guilty verdict for an OUI in Massachusetts in court, you can expect to be facing a Massachusetts license suspension. But how long will that suspension last? Or, better yet, can you learn how to get your license back after a DUI or OUI as quickly as possible?

Read More

Can You Shorten the Length of a First Offense DUI License Suspension?

Getting charged with a first offense OUI/DUI in Massachusetts means that, among other penalties, your driver’s license will be suspended. The length of that suspension depends on a few factors, though, as the particular circumstances surrounding your situation can and will affect how long your DUI license suspension will last.

Read More

Should You Refuse a First DUI Breathalyzer Test in Massachusetts?

Getting pulled over by an officer of the law is a stressful experience, to say the least, especially if the officer asks you to take a DUI breathalyzer test. Should you take the test? What happens if you refuse to take it? Are there consequences for refusing a breathalyzer, and if so, how do they compare to the consequences of taking the test and failing?

Read More

How Can a Continuance Without a Finding Benefit DUI First Offenders?

When facing a DUI/OUI first offense in Massachusetts, you’re going to have a couple of options to consider before and during your upcoming trial in court. Most first offenders have an opportunity outside of a Not Guilty verdict to escape a conviction. That opportunity takes the form of a Continuance Without a Finding.

Read More

Is Your License Suspended Immediately After a DUI 1st Offense Charge?

When you’re charged with a first offense DUI/OUI in Massachusetts, it’s practically a guarantee that you’ll be facing a license suspension of some sort. However, the length of that suspension and the factors that dictate when you get your license back will depend on the specific circumstances around your case.

Read More

Facing Your First DUI Charge? Find a Massachusetts DUI Lawyer Today!

Getting charged with a DUI/OUI leaves you in an incredibly difficult situation. Your driver’s license is suspended, you may have just spent a night in jail, and now you’ve got an arraignment to deal with (and eventually, a formal trial to prepare for). If this is your first DUI charge, then you’re also in uncharted territory; you may feel adrift at sea without so much as a compass to point you in a coherent direction.

Read More